The best…Ice Cream

Posted on July 30, 2013

4



One of my best friends is a bit of an ice cream connoisseur and when she heard we were off to Paris she told us – we HAD to go to Berthillion on Île Saint-Louis to try their ice cream. 

We made the trek last this week when we were there and spotted it straight away from the queue outside the little shop window. The hardest thing was choosing the flavour we wanted as there were so many – I had already read that they made all of the ice cream on the premises using fresh ingredients and nothing artificial so I was tempted by it all!

In the end between us we tried a mix of ice cream and sorbet in the following flavours – pear, rhubarb, strawberry, apricot and mango. 

I was really worried it was going to be ridiculously expensive but it was pretty reasonable – 3 euros for one scoop and 1.5 euros for an additional scoop. The portions certainly weren’t large but given the quality I think it was really good value.

I thought it was absolutely delicious – the rhubarb in particularly was amazing – the flavours just burst in my mouth!

Without a doubt it’s the best ice cream I’ve tasted. Have you tried it? Where do you consider the best ice cream?