Are holiday photograph albums a thing of the past?

Posted on June 30, 2013

6



A recent survey has shown that, despite the average holidaymaker taking 300 + photographs per trip, less than 3% will actually print them.

This has given me a bit of a jolt. My photograph albums from childhood holidays are some of my most treasured possessions and I love flicking through them and talking to my children about the trips I took with my parents and brother.

The new trend to not print photographs is apparently linked to social networking sites. And I am very guilty of this – I love uploading the photos to facebook as soon as we’re back and writing all of my captions and locations. But most of my photographs stay exactly where I left them, sat on my facebook page and not migrated to a hardback book.

Not all though. I have printed some of my photographs using an online service where I upload them, format the pages and write the captions and a hard copy arrives in the post. My children love it when we get one of the books down from the shelf to read, it’s a really special time.

I really must start working through the backlog and keeping on top of all of the new trips though. It’s good to have them on facebook (and that’s always really useful when I do get around to printing hard copies) but there’s nothing like a proper photo album to snuggle up with the children on the sofa with and just remember all of the good times.

Do you print your photographs? I’d love to know whether the holiday photograph album really could be a thing of the past. I hope not!